top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAsh K. Alexander

Welcome to Kent

It's been a week since we arrived at our new home in Kent, WA. I've seen Mt. Rainer, and the Puget Sound. I've spent time with amazing friends. I've seen my first, in person, Stellar's Jay.


It's been...amazing. Our cats have settled in nicely and really seem to be enjoying the new space. Hermes seems like a new cat entirely, playing and deigning to seek me out for affection.


Our drive was long, but I don't think I'd replace it for anything. I saw so much of the country I'd never seen before. Wyoming was like something out of a dream, as if some fantasy land had come to life in front of our eyes and if we crested the next hill there would be riders in armor waiting for us there.


The mountains of Idaho threw me, mostly as I'm not used to driving in such conditions, or inclines and there was admittedly some panic there, but we made it after switching drivers to preserve my nerves.


We also had, bar none, some of the best french fries I've ever had in Couer D'Alene, off Sherman Ave (chosen because it's my brother's nickname and we thought surely we'd find good food there because he rarely steers us wrong) and discovered Roger's.


It was a splurge for our tight budget, but so worth it.


Coming into Washington was like redoing the entire trip in micro-scale. The plains to the foothills to the mountains...and finally, home.


It's going to take time to settle in (and money because moving is EXPENSIVE) but we've got a good start, good friends and hope for a better future.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page